Silver Medal Award

Recognizing Outstanding Contributions in Advertising and Community

The American Advertising Federation's Silver Medal Award was established in 1959 to recognize men and women who have made outstanding contributions to advertising. Annually, AAF member clubs bestow this honor upon outstanding members of the local advertising community. Silver Medal recipients are selected by a panel of judges from AAF Madison.

Nominate a Candidate CLICK HERE!

Nominations for the 2021 Silver Medal Award are OPEN. 

Qualifying candidates must demonstrate:

  • Contribution to Their Company – Candidates must have achieved success in one of the following areas of work: an advertising agency, advertiser, media, or advertising service.
  • Creative Ability – Candidates must have shown a consistent, high degree of original thinking in their field.
  • Contributions to the General Advancement of Advertising - Candidates must have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising profession.
  • Contributions to the Community - Candidates should be someone who has been active in our local community.



Silver Medal Award Recipients Hall of Fame

This year's Silver Medal Award Recipient joins a long list of amazing individuals that have had and continue to have a profound impact on our industry. We applaud you all, once again, for your commitment, passion, perseverance and leadership.

2020              Harvey Briggs

2019              George Whitely

2018              Sara McCormack

2017              Andy Wallman

2016              David Sanks

2015              Roderick (Rod) Ritcherson

2014              Si Rogers

2013              Scott Cooper

2012              Bob Boelter

2011              Rick Stone

2010              Sandy Weisberger

2009              Ted Knupp

2008              Dick Zillman

2007              Bill Kennedy

2006              Peter Mortenson

2005              Barry Burne

2004              Michael Knapstein & Annette Knapstein

2003              Jim Sendecke & Minnie Schiro

2002              Georgia Roeming

2001              Bill Haight

2000              Roman Hiebing

1999              Glenn Rindfleisch

1998              William Waldbillig

1997              Marsha Lindsay

1996              Terry Shockley

1995              Rod Barelman

1994              John Robertson

1993              Carl Ames

1992              Gail Selk

1991              Nicholas Topitzes

1989              John Rustad

1988              Robert Besteman

1987              Robert Salisbury

1986              Floyd Carlstrom

1984              Bob Rohr

1982              Dave Mergen

1981              Larry Landgraf

1980              Don Stoffels

1979              Celest Regenberg

1977              Dave Carman

1976              Bob Loomer

1975              Hugh Brady

1974              Ronnie Deane

1972              Tom Bolger

1971              Richard Hagen

1970              Martin Wolman

1968              Thomas Towell

1967              Jack Stephan

1964              William Scrivner

1963              Ben F. Hovel

1962              S. Watson Dunn

1961              Arthur Towell

1960              William B. Walrath